These lands near
Killin were originally held by the
Menzies family but Finlarig Castle was built
in 1629 by Black Duncan Campbell of Glenorchy.
Consisting of two square towers, the
castle is now largely ruined. The cellars and kitchen can be seen but the
ruin is actually rather dangerous to explore.
Parliament was summoned to be held
at Finlarig Castle in 1651 but only three members of parliament actually
MacGregor stayed in the castle in 1713.
Legend has it that a pit there was
where nobles were executed by beheading while commoners were hanged on a
nearby oak tree. Expert opinion suggests that the pit was actually a water
cister, but that doesn't make quite such an interesting tale!
This branch of the Campbell Clan became
the Earls of Breadalbane.